Minoo’s recipe for ‘Ghormeh-sabzi’

Don’t tell her that I have given away her secret but here is my wife Minoo’s recipe for making Ghormeh-sabzi, a Persian Stew. (We sometimes serve  this at the Bahá’í meetings we hold in our home).

Ingredients

(We usually get ours from the local Pakistani merchant- but if you live in an area with a large Iranian population, for example ‘Tehrangeles’ your local Iranian shop can supply) This should serve five or six people.

1 kilo of boneless stewing lamb or beef (lamb is best)

1 large onion-finely chopped

Cooking oil

1 teaspoon turmeric

1.5 measures water

1/2 measure dried limes (or lime juice)

3/4 measure kidney beans (best to pre-cook them)

Salt (to taste)

Black pepper (to taste)

1/4 measure finely chopped ‘tareh’ (chives)

1/4 measure finely chopped ‘shanbelileh’ (fenugreek)

1/4 measure finely chopped coriander

1 measure finely chopped spring onions

1.5 measures finely chopped spinach

1/2 measure finely chopped parsley

Instructions

Cut fat off the meat and chop into cubes. Fry the onions and meat over a medium heat in cooking oil until they turn golden-brown, adding the turmeric and salt and pepper (to taste).  Put in the herbs and fry for a few more minutes stirring all the while. Turn down the heat. Add water, kidney beans and dried limes. Put on the lid and simmer gently until meat is tender (for about an hour to an hour and a half). Should be served with white rice.

Enjoy! (or as the Iranians say ‘Noosh-e-joon’)!

16 thoughts on “Minoo’s recipe for ‘Ghormeh-sabzi’

  1. Ok, this has really has been bugging me: I thought “ghormeh” was a French word. Is this like “barodar”?

    But seriously, thanks for the recipes, and thanks to Minoo. I intend to try one out soon.

    -Dan

  2. Yes, ‘ghormeh-sabzi’ is a corruption of the French ‘gourmet-sabzi’ a term from eastern France (far, far eastern France, sort of near Iran..) 🙂

    -Karl

    P.S. Dont blame me if the recipe goes wrong..;-)

  3. Sorry to disappoint you guys, but “ghormeh sabzi” is a combination of two Persian words: ghormeh – meaning diced meat, and sabzi – meaning herbs. This has nothing to do with French “gourmet”! The dish is far more ancient than any French influence in that part of the world.

    “Baradar”, which means brother in Persian, sounds similar to its English equivalent, because they both come from common Indo-European roots. The Persian baradar is derived from Pahlavi (middle Persian) word “baratar”, the common language of Iran from the end of Achaemenid times (before Alexander’s arrival) to the time of Arab invasion some 12 centuries ago. Similarly, mother in “madar”, father is “pedar” (cf padre), daughter is “dokhtar”, etc.

    Enjoy your ghormeh sabzi!

    Omeed

  4. Hello Omeed

    Thank you for taking the time to comment. The reference to France was only a joke;-) (My wife is Iranian and I am a Persian speaker). Perhaps it was my British sense of humour that deceived you:-)

    Best Wishes

    Karl

  5. I’m desperate…. I love this dish and was given some Gormeh Sabzi dried herbs to make it, but how do I use the dried herbs (just a mixture) instead of the fresh ones? Same amount? Preparation? Etc.

    Thanks.

    Jane

  6. Jane

    I would say half the amount in dry herbs. Gently fry the herbs with some oil -until partly reconstituted- before adding them to the other ingredients.

    Regards

    Karl

  7. Maybe the comment is to late, I was looking for some recipe today and discovered this site.
    Jane, you should soak the dry herbs for at least 30 min before frying.

      • Wow so many ghormeh Sabzi lovers :O)

        I am making my first one today

        my other half (also iranian) is ver worried about my cooking skills but i will follow this recipe and im sure it will be fine

        but one point is that:

        Onceyour fried onions are ready you shout put in the meat and after few seconds add turmeric , stire it for few minutes not too long and add the herbs and the rest as been told by my grand mother. I think this is so the meat wont smell!!

        Anyways i hope u al enjoy your home made ghorme sabzi

        :O)

        n

  8. After being treated to Persian food again recently, I decided to have a go at “Gourmet Sabsi”, googled, and to my surprise, up comes this delightful site full of warm information from the Baha’i Faith. Allah’u’Abha!!
    PS how much is a “measure”?

  9. I love gourmet sabzi! it is one of my favorites!! I use a crock pot and I buy the herbs frozen. I have found that there are many variations on the herbs and it is fun to change it up. OHHH i want to make some right now!

  10. Hi, my husband Mohammad “Ataolahy” had a friend named Minoo – don’t recall the last name. Just wondering if it could be the same person. Atta has passed away, but we lived in Houston and then in Ahwaz, Iran and Tehran. Would appreciate a reply – hoping it is the same Minoo – that would be wonderful! Patti

Leave a Reply

