‘What Does Bahá’u’lláh Teach’?

Bahá’u’lláh teaches that there is one God who has revealed His will through progressive revelation by his Divine Messengers. The common objective of these Divine Messengers is to promote the spiritual and social development of the human race. Humanity has reached such a stage of development that it’s unification in one peaceful world community is now possible. In order to promote this peaceful world community Bahá’u’lláh teaches-

  • That humankind is one family
  • That the religions have one common divine source
  • That true religion is consistent with reason and the quest for scientific understanding
  • That extremes of poverty and wealth should be avoided
  • That universal education should be made available to all-an education both spiritual and material in character
  • That all forms of prejudice should be left behind
  • That the sexes are equal, ‘the wings of a single bird’
  • That a world commonwealth of nations should be created, founded on principles of peace and justice
6 thoughts on “‘What Does Bahá’u’lláh Teach’?

  1. There’s nothing I could disagree with there 🙂
    But do you really believe that humanity is ready and mature enough to achieve unification as one peaceful world community? This is something I struggle with. I am greatly disillusioned with humanity, and sometimes I am so angry at what we have done and are doing, that I think the sooner we are gone the better. I know this is an extreme view born of anger and frustration, so I’d be interested to hear what you have to say on this…
    Blessed Be
    Seshat

  2. Seshat

    Thank you for your comment. In answer to your question, yes I do believe that humanity is ready to achieve unity. On the other hand it will not be a painless process to achieve. (Perhaps the analogy of childbirth may be a good one here…). This being said this I also think there are signs of great hope. If one considers the conciousness of humanity it has developed a great deal- even in the last fifty years-in terms of a general acceptance of our interdependence and fellowship as human beings. Also for the first time there are global systems of communication and commerce which have the embryionic capacity to create a just and peaceful ‘commonwealth of nations’. Having said that there remains a great deal of work to be done as people of goodwill to promote this unity…so let’s go for it:-)

    Love

    Karl

  3. Hi Karl,
    Yes, we are being forced to look at our interdependence because so many mistakes committed by a small number of countries are having global effects (wars, environmental pollution, debt). How sad that the only way we learn our interdependence is by seeing how our small actions have a ripple effect and create a tsunami of suffering in other parts of the world, which in the long-term then bounces back and affects us. Oh dear, I’m in a very negative mood this morning 😉
    I just feel very hopeless about it all, and I wonder where you get your hope from. I do see a change in attitude amongst some people – is the change enough? Are they enough people? Will they manage to influence others in time before we self-destruct as a species? I don’t know.
    It’s easy to get very down when looking at the global situation, especially as individuals cannot directly affect the world. I know I just have to focus on doing the best I can in my microcosm, in the hopes that my little ripples may at some point affect someone positively, who will then pass on the love to another and another; just as I am positively transformed by the love of other people. But I always have an eye to the bigger picture, and I fear that we will not achieve enough, quickly enough.
    This is when we have to trust deity, yes? After all, we can do nothing without the will and blessing of God/Goddess.
    How do you keep your hope?
    Seshat

  4. Seshat

    I can understand your feelings, I too have times when pessimism takes hold of me (it is not difficult if one reads the news;-) ). Conversely there is also great hope to be seen in terms of the growing awareness of the need to work together on this small planet of ours. (Even if only for reasons of enlightened self-interest..). Ultimately as you say we must trust in the Divinity and do our best. I think faith is the key. I personally find the writings of Baha’u’llah to be a great inspiration, take for example this beautiful passage-

    ‘The Divine Springtime is come, O Most Exalted Pen, for the Festival of the All-Merciful is fast approaching. Bestir thyself, and magnify, before the entire creation, the name of God, and celebrate His praise, in such wise that all created things may be regenerated and made new. Speak, and hold not thy peace. The day star of blissfulness shineth above the horizon of Our name, the Blissful, inasmuch as the kingdom of the name of God hath been adorned with the ornament of the name of thy Lord, the Creator of the heavens. Arise before the nations of the earth, and arm thyself with the power of this Most Great Name, and be not of those who tarry’.

  5. This is throwing up some interesting thoughts for me. The fact that you find inspiration in scripture (right word in a Baha’i context?), when we as witches have no sacred literature per se. I find a lot of your quotes and prayers beautiful and touching, and I can fully understand how you get comfort from them. I enjoy reading the psalms, and I am open to finding nourishment from whatever source, but sometimes it does feel like peering over the fence into someone else’s garden! I shall have to have a think about the pros and cons of having no body of sacred literature in witchcraft…
    Have a good weekend.
    Seshat

  6. Seshat,

    The term ‘scriptures’ is fine, though Baha’is tend to use the term ‘writings’ and thank you for the kind words about the Baha’i quotations. I hope you have a good weekend too.

    Love

    Karl

Leave a Reply

