The Marriage Of Mírzá Dáwúd And Núr Mahal Khánum

I was touched by this account of a Baha’i Wedding in London in 1911 given by the Bridegroom Mírzá Dáwúd-

After receiving us, ‘Abdu’l-Bahá said, “You are very welcome and it makes me happy to see you here in London.” Looking at me he said, “Never have I united anyone in marriage before, except my own daughters, but as I love you much, and you have rendered a great service to the Kingdom of Abhá, both in this country and in other lands, I will perform your marriage ceremony today. It is my hope that you may both continue in the blessed path of service.” Then, first, ‘Abdu’l-Bahá took Núr Mahal Khánum into the next room and said to her, “Do you love Mírzá Yuhanna Dáwúd with all your heart and soul?” She answered, “Yes, I do.” Then ‘Abdu’l-Bahá called me to him and put a similar question, that is to say, “Do you love Núr Mahal Khánum with all your heart and soul?” I answered “Yes, I do.” We re-entered the room together and ‘Abdu’l-Bahá took the right hand of the bride and gave it into that of the bridegroom and asked us to say after him, “We do all to please God.” We all sat down and ‘Abdu’l-Bahá continued; “Marriage is a holy institution and much encouraged in this blessed cause. Now you two are no longer two, but one. Bahá’u’lláh’s wish is that all men be of one mind and consider themselves of one great household, that the mind of mankind be not divided against itself.“It is my wish and hope that you may be blessed in your life. May God help you to render great service to the kingdom of Abhá and may you become a means of its advancement.“May joy be increased to you as the years go by, and may you become thriving trees bearing delicious and fragrant fruits which are the blessings in the path of service.”When we came out, all the assembled friends both of Persia and London congratulated us on the great honour that had been bestowed upon us, and we were invited to dine by the kind hostess.

Source: http://reference.bahai.org/en/t/ab/ABL/abl-38.html

2 thoughts on “The Marriage Of Mírzá Dáwúd And Núr Mahal Khánum

  1. As I’m still new to the Faith, I hadn’t yet come upon this quote by Abdul-Baha about marriage, so thank you for sharing it. The Averroist and romantic in me also find much to enjoy in it! 😉

Leave a Reply

